Citi United Kingdom
Important Links
What you think counts

What you think counts

Canada Square Operations Ltd
(formerly known as Egg Banking plc)

Information about CSO complaints

Complaints about former Egg, Future Mortgage and Citi Financial products are handled by Canada Square Operations Limited (formerly known as Egg Banking plc).

If you have already made a complaint you do not need to do anything, and Canada Square Operations will contact you in writing. Please see our frequently asked questions for further details on our complaint handling procedure and timescales.

If you think that you may have been mis-sold an insurance policy, and you want Canada Square Operations to review your sale, they will do so. You can find more information on how to make a complaint to Canada Square Operations below.

You don't need to use a Claims Management Company to make a complaint. They will typically charge an upfront fee or a percentage of any compensation, but Canada Square Operations will assess complaints received directly from you in exactly the same way as those received from Claims Management companies.

Egg Loan and Egg Mortgage insurance (PPI) complaints

Please print a PPI consumer questionnaire from the Financial Ombudsman Service website. Filling in the FOS PPI questionnaire helps us process your complaint as efficiently as possible.

To download a copy of the PPI questionnaire in word format click here.

To download a copy of the PPI questionnaire in PDF format click here.

Once you have completed the questionnaire, please send it to:

Canada Square Operations
PO Box 4903
Worthing
BN99 3AR

Once they have received your completed questionnaire they will process your complaint and write to you to let you know their decision. Please note that due to high volumes of complaints received, it may take up to eight weeks to process your complaint.

Future Mortgage insurance (PPI) complaints

Please print a PPI consumer questionnaire  from the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) website. Filling in the FOS PPI questionnaire helps us process your complaint as efficiently as possible.

To download a copy of the PPI questionnaire in word format click here.

To download a copy of the PPI questionnaire in PDF format click here.

Once you have completed the questionnaire, please send it to:

Canada Square Operations
PO Box 4903
Worthing

BN99 3AR
Once we have received your completed questionnaire we will process your complaint and write to you to let you know our decision. Please note that due to high volumes of complaints received, it may take up to eight weeks for us to process your complaint.

Egg Card Repayment Protection (CRP) complaints

Card Repayment Protection (CRP) insurance could cover monthly repayments if the policy holder died, had an accident, or was sick and unable to work or made redundant. CRP premiums were charged monthly to the credit card as a percentage of the outstanding balance.

If your Egg Card or Egg Money Card was transferred to Barclaycard, please contact Barclaycard directly on 0844 811 9111 or at Barclaycard if you have any concerns about Card Repayment Protection cover on your account.

If your Egg Card or Egg Money account was closed before October 2011 or not transferred to Barclaycard, please print a PPI consumer questionnaire from the Financial Ombudsman Service website. Filling in the FOS PPI questionnaire helps us process your complaint as efficiently as possible.

To download a copy of the PPI questionnaire in word format click here.

To download a copy of the PPI questionnaire in PDF format click here.

Once you have completed the questionnaire, please send it to:

Canada Square Operations
PO Box 4903
Worthing
BN99 3AR

Once Canada Square Operations has received your completed questionnaire they will process your complaint and write to you to let you know their decision. Please note that due to high volumes of complaints received, it may take up to eight weeks to process your complaint.

Egg Card Protection Plan (CPP) complaints

Card Protection Plan (CPP) insurance is a standalone product which provides a number of services and certain insurance in the event that your cards became lost or stolen. The policies provided cover for a year and were typically charged an annual premium until the policy was cancelled; although some customers opted to pay up front for two or more years in one payment.

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) who regulate the financial services industry in the UK have agreed a scheme of arrangement with other business partners, including Canada Square Operations, covering CPP premiums paid on or after 14 January 2005. Therefore CPP complaints are investigated in two parts.

Part 1: CPP premiums paid on or after 14 January 2005: These complaints will be handled by the scheme. The scheme administrators will write to you with further details about the scheme shortly. If you do not receive a letter or you want to find out more information about the scheme please do so by visiting their website at www.cppschemeofarrangement.co.uk.
Part 2: CPP premiums paid before 14 January 2005: These complaints will be handled outside the scheme. Please see below for instructions on how to raise a complaint about these premiums

If your Egg Card or Egg Money Card was transferred to Barclaycard, please contact Barclaycard directly on 0844 811 9111 or at Barclaycard if you have any concerns about Card Protection Plan cover on your account.

If your Egg Card or Egg Money account was closed before October 2011 or not transferred to Barclaycard, please send details of your complaint to the relevant address below:

Canada Square Operations
PO Box 4903
Worthing
BN99 3AR

Once we have received your details we will process your complaint and write to you to let you know our decision.

Identity Protection Alert (IPA) complaints

Identity Protection Alert (IPA) provided a theft advice line; alerts when your credit report changes; credit report updates, protective registration of key documents and fraud resolution service. Also included was up to £50,000 cover against legal and other costs and loss of earnings incurred when repairing credit ratings, financial information and other personal information after identity theft.

Former Egg customers who wish to make a complaint about IPA should contact Card Protection Plan Limited directly on telephone 0844 848 1517or in writing at Card Protection Plan Limited, Holgate Park, York, YO26 4GA.

Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS)

When we’ve finished investigating your complaint, we’ll issue our final response. If you are not happy with our response, or in the unlikely event that we have taken more than eight weeks to respond, you can take your complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS).

The Financial Ombudsman Service is free and offers you independent advice and support. The FOS is available to settle certain complaints you make if they cannot be settled through our internal complaints procedures. You can contact the FOS as follows:

The Financial Ombudsman Service
Exchange Tower
London E14 9SR
United Kingdom

Tel: +44 (0) 20 7964 1000

Email: complaint.info@financial-ombudsman.org.uk

www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk

FAQs

What is PPI?

Payment Protection Insurance is insurance that could cover monthly repayments on credit agreements, such as unsecured loans, mortgages and credit cards. The payment protection policy helps if the person who takes out the protection dies, has an accident, is sick and unable to work or becomes unemployed. The insurance company pays the monthly repayments (or a percentage of them) on the policyholder's behalf for a fixed period, or the outstanding balance is cleared in the event of death.

What is CRP?

Card Repayment Protection is a form of Payment Protection Insurance sold on Egg credit cards. CRP premiums were charged monthly as a percentage of the outstanding balance on the credit card.

What is CPP?

Card Protection Plan (CPP) insurance, which was also known as Egg Emergency Cover on Egg Cards, is a standalone product available to both Citi and Egg customers. CPP provides a number of services and certain insurance in the event that your cards became lost or stolen. The policies provided cover for a year and were typically charged an annual premium until the policy was cancelled; although some customers opted to pay up front for two or more years in one payment.

What is the difference between credit card CRP and CPP?

Card Repayment Protection (CRP) insurance could cover monthly repayments if the policy holder died, had an accident, or was sick and unable to work or made redundant. CRP premiums were charged monthly to the credit card as a percentage of the outstanding balance. Whereas Card Protection Plan (CPP) provides services and insurance should your cards become lost or stolen. CPP premiums were generally collected annually.

What happens once I have raised a complaint and how long will it take to receive a response?

Upon receipt of a complaint Canada Square Operations will promptly write to you to acknowledge it. They aim to deal with your complaint within eight weeks. When they have arrived at a decision they will write to you informing you of the outcome.

Will there be a different outcome if I use a Claims management company?

No. You are entitled to use a Claims Management Company to process your claim and they will contact Egg on your behalf. However they will typically charge an upfront fee or a percentage of any compensation, and we will treat complaints received directly from you in exactly the same way as those received from Claims Management Companies.

I have made a claim on my insurance policy - does this prevent me from submitting a complaint?

No it doesn't. Canada Square Operations will look at each case on its merits and take account of all the available information in reaching a decision.

If I have an existing complaint, how can I get an update?

Customers with existing complaints do not need to do anything at this time. Canada Square Operations are working hard to resolve all complaints as soon as possible, and will keep customers updated as regularly as possible.

My complaint has been upheld, when will my money be paid?

If you are entitled to receive a refund, we will write to you to confirm how we have calculated your redress. We will provide any redress payment by cheque or account adjustment within 20 working days of the date of our letter. If you have changed your name, we will write to you requesting identification evidencing your change. Please note that we will be unable to pay any redress until we have received valid documentation.

If you have a debt relief order, or bankruptcy order or you are in an Individual Voluntary Arrangement (IVA) and you are due a refund, it may be sent directly to the Official Receiver or Insolvency Practitioner. If this is the case we will explain this clearly in the letter we send you with our calculation breakdown.

Who do I contact if I have a complaint about something else?

If your former Egg account has been transferred to a new provider, please contact them using the details in your welcome letter or email. If you would like to contact Canada Square Operations about an Egg account that was not transferred or is closed, please write to them at:

Canada Square Operations
PO Box 4903
Worthing
BN99 3AR

Information on our complaints

You can see in the table below the number of complaints opened, how many were closed and the number upheld (found in the customer's favour) in the first half of 2016.

This information will be updated every six months, with the next update due by 28 February 2017.

Firm name: Canada Square Operations Ltd (formerly known as Egg Banking plc)
Other firms included in this report: n/a
Period covered in this report: 1 January 2016 – 30 June 2016
Brands/trading names covered: Canada Square Operations (formerly known as Egg)

Number of complaints opened Number of complaints closed* Number of complaints closed within 8 weeks (%) Closed complaints upheld by Canada Square Operations (%)
Banking (Egg Savings, Egg credit cards and Egg Loans) 183 190 100.0% 7.9%
Home Finance (Egg Mortgages) 4 4 100.0% 25.0%
General insurance and pure protection (credit related insurance products) 17,938 19,045 99.6% 65.7%

*There are sometimes more complaints closed than opened, why is this?
The column entitled 'Number of complaints opened' shows the total number of complaints which were opened in the six month period. The column called 'Number of complaints closed' shows all the complaints which were closed in that same period and includes some complaints which were opened before this reporting period.

Canada Square Operations Ltd (formerly known as Egg Banking plc) has transferred ownership of its credit card accounts to Barclays Bank plc. Complaints related to Egg credit cards and related insurances received after 29 April 2011 are reported by Barclays Bank plc and are therefore not included in the figures above

Canada Square Operations Ltd (formerly known as Egg Banking plc) has transferred ownership of its savings and mortgage accounts to Yorkshire Building Society. Complaints related to Egg savings and mortgage accounts and related insurances received after 31 October 2011 are reported by Yorkshire Building Society and are therefore not included in the figures above. You can find details of YBS's complaints data on the YBS website.